Tavern Books

Tavern Books

Tavern Books is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit poetry publisher that exists to print, promote, and preserve works of literary vision, to foster a climate of cultural preservation, and to disseminate books in a way that benefits the reading public.

We focus primarily on poetry in translation from around the world and reprints of titles that have been lost, forgotten, or underrecognized.

Online Content

Genres published 

  • Poetry

Writing styles published 

  • Contemporary / Literary

Publication Formats 

  • Book / Chapbook / Print Journal

Languages published 

  • English

Source Languages 

  • Any
Publisher Details

Publication count: 




Accept unsolicited submissions: 


Permit online submissions: 


Permit simultaneous submissions: 


Reading Periods: 

Annually, October 1st through January 15th


  • Unknown

Publish reprints: 


Calls for Submissions: 

To honor the life and work of Greta Wrolstad (1981-2005), author of Night is Simply a Shadow (2013) and Notes on Sea & Shore (2010), Tavern Books invites submissions of new poetry collections through The Wrolstad Contemporary Poetry Series (http://www.tavernbooks.com/wrolstad-series). The Wrolstad Contemporary Poetry Series is open to all woman aged 40 years or younger who is a US citizen, regardless of publication history. This series exists to champion exceptional literary works from young women poets through a book publication in The Living Library, the Tavern Books catalog of innovative poets ranging from first-time authors and neglected masters to Pulitzer Prize winners and Nobel Laureates. One manuscript is selected per year. Selected poets receive: - A standard royalty contract - A working relationship with an editorial staff and publisher - Publication of their book in both paperback and hardcover editions - National distribution through Small Press Distribution